Users

In this section

If you have silver or higher support, you can ask Silktide to add users for you. This is particularly appropriate if you have a large number of users to add – you can send us a spreadsheet of their names, email addresses, and roles, and we will take care of this.

How to add a user

Before you add any users to Silktide, consider who in your team should use Silktide and familiarize yourself with user roles.

To add new users to your Silktide account, you must be an account owner. There is no limit to the number of users you can add to your account.

Click on the icon in the bottom-left corner, and select Account settings.

In the menu that appears, select Users. Click Invite users and a dialog will appear:

Here you can enter the details for one or more users at once. The drop-down menu specifies which user role they have.

When you fill in this form, Silktide will send each user an email with instructions on how to create their own account. You can optionally check the Include welcome message box to include your own custom message in that invitation email.

When you add a user they will be immediately emailed instructions to create their account. This will include asking them to choose a password.

How to set default website permissions

Why default permissions matter

When a new website is created, it can optionally grant some level of access to all of your users by default. This is very helpful, as it saves you having to later configure permissions for your websites and users individually.

We highly recommend you consider and set this option before you add your websites.

Setting default website permissions

You can choose what permissions new websites should have as follows:

  • Click the circular icon in the bottom left corner of the screen (usually this will have your photo or logo on it) and a menu should appear.
  • Click Account settings.
  • At the bottom of the screen, change the option for Default website permissions.

You will be able to choose between four options:

  1. Only the creator of a website has rights to see it
    This is the most restrictive option. When a website is created, no-one will be able to see it except the person who added it and any account owners.
  2. Everyone can see new reports
    When a website is created, every user will be able to see the website by default (they will be a viewer for the website). The person who created the website and account owners will be managers of the website.
  3. Everyone can see contribute to new reports
    When a website is created, every user will be able to contribute to the website by default (they will be a contributor for the website). The person who created the website and account owners will be managers of the website.
  4. Everyone can manage new reports
    When a website is created, every user will be able to manage the website by default (they will be a manager for the website).

These settings will only affect new websites created after this point.

Need extra help?

Chat with our support team now and we'll be happy to help you with any issues