Setting up groups

When you first set up the account, there are a few default groups/roles that have been included for you. We’re going to talk about these groups, and give you some suggestions for how to set up your own to fit your organization’s needs.

Default Groups

The Everyone Group

This is a very important group to think about, because it encompasses all users in the account. Think of this as your default permissions that all users will have, including those using SSO who sign themselves up to an account. This will often be heavily restricted.

For example, you could allow the Everyone group to view dashboards, make and see comments, use annotations, watch academy videos, and even use the standalone inspector. Unless you choose to give the Everyone group one of the permissions from the Websites section, they wouldn’t see any of the reports by default. Remember that you can set each website section to have specific permissions for the Everyone group if you so desire.

The Content Managers Group

Without changing it, this group adds the Editor view to the permissions for that user. This view restricts what the user sees in a report to just the tasks a Content Editor would typically be able to action, so that they can get to work without being distracted by tasks that are outside their remit.

The Developers Group

As a base, this group gives users the Developer view permissions to the user. This view restricts what the user sees in a report to just the tasks that a Developer would typically be able to action, so they can get to work without being distracted by issues outside their role.

The Administrators Group

As you might expect, the Administrators group defaults to give full access to the entire account. Users assigned to this group will have full access to all views and all reports, can add and delete sites, create dashboards, and have control over users and their permissions/groups.

Working with your own Groups

What is the group for?

Groups are quite flexible. While we initially focus on permissions, groups can be used for assigning tasks or opening up access to a specific website report, while using inherited permissions from other groups to provide levels of access. So you can create groups that do not have any additional permissions, but as a way to organize users by responsibility or team.

Groups can be used to assign permissions to a specific website, so it is best to get these arranged before you begin adding users. There is more information about website permissions in our guides and under the steps for adding a website.

Creating a Group

To create a new group, go to the top right where you see your profile icon, and click it. Choose Settings > Groups. On this page, you’ll be able to see a list of the current groups defined in the account so you can click on any of them to change their permissions. At the top of this page, you can click the + New group to create a new one.

You’ll want to choose a name and a description so it is clear to everyone what the group is for. You can choose an icon by going to the Font Awesome Icons library and choosing one. You will need the name of the icon, like “far fa-smile-wink” to put into the text field.

Assigning permissions to the new group is just a matter of using the checkboxes to add the permissions this group will need on top of what was already inherited from the Everyone group.

Examples of Group Setups

  • Dashboard Admins – a group that has permission to create, edit, and delete all the dashboards (under Admin)
  • Team Dashboards – a group that can create dashboards, but only has admin-level permission to the ones they create (under Dashboards)
  • Team Editors – group content editor type users by department/team for easier assignment of tasks. This would be most effective with the users assigned to Content Managers for the Editor view, then also assigned to their Teams.

Need extra help?

Chat with our support team now and we'll be happy to help you with any issues